Cookie Consent for EU Visitors


The Cookie Consent app allows you to notify your visitors that your site uses cookies with a banner that appears at the top of your site.

How to enable the Cookie Consent banner for EU Visitors

  • How to enable the Cookie Consent banner 

    • Log in to your Shareaholic account
    • Select your site from the My Sites dropdown. 
    • In the Apps section, toggle the Cookie Consent banner app to on. 


Click the Configure button to access more customization settings. In the Targeting Rules tab, you can choose whether to display this banner to visitors from all countries, or only visitors from EU countries.



How the Cookie Consent banner works

When someone visits your site and their GeoIP information indicates that they are located in the EU, the Cookie Consent App will appear on their screen. We use the MaxMind GeoIP lookup database to determine country.

We classify the following countries as part of the EU:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • United Kingdom

We followed the list published here. Last updated: 6 February 2014

In addition to the above, we include the following countries that are part of the EEA (European Economic Area):

  • Norway
  • Iceland
  • Liechtenstein


Was this article helpful?